Snack This! Bitesized Education Micro-Casting


Listen to my Bitesized Education Microcasts here!

I just got married in November of 2018.  My family has now grown to 4 mini-humans and  the two adults that seem to be in charge most of the time.  My wife, Wendy, and I both have careers that require our mad skills and lots of attention.  The four squids… well they’re busy with Tik Tok and YouTube and Fortenite and homework and friends and stuff.

We’re busy people.

So are most of you.

For that reason I started looking into creating a “micro-cast” instead of a podcast.  As an education consultant, I am blessed to be able to walk into so many wonderful classrooms across the western part of the DFW area.  In nearly every single classroom I’ve seen something to make me think, “Man, I could totally share this with all the teachers everywhere…”  I really do think those things…

Blogging like this, it takes time.  I’m not super up on Twitter as I used to be.  And I’ve been blocked out of my MySpace accounts for a while.

Enter: podcasting.  No!  Enter: Microcasting.

person holding black smartphone

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

I recently discovered the Anchor App.  It’s a podcasting app that is incredible versatile.  It is available on laptops and via the app.  But give me the app ALL DAY LONG!  This baby is robust.

Within the app you can record your voice, lay down music behind your voice, add segment bumper music, edit (the editing feature is limited), receive voice messages from listeners (that you can then add to your future shows), and so much more!!!

Download it and play around.. and while you’re at it… Follow my microcast 🙂 https://anchor.fm/SnackThis

The BAD ;(  The editing tool is good… but there is no ability to merge previously spliced segments.  So this creates a gap in audio.  WORKAROUND: what I have discovered is that once you are done editing and adding music… export your episode on the laptop and it will merge all of those segments together when exported.  Then import this unified file back into your podcast and publish.

The GOOD! Everything else is make all of your podcasts smelling like a rose.  The app comes preloaded with cover images, background music, bumper music.  The app also stores your files, allows listeners to “call in” and leave messages, and… listen up… it EXPORTS your podcasts out to 7 other platforms.  These platforms include GoogleCast, iTunes, and Spotify.  Analytics?  Yep… Anchor keeps track of your listens and downloads in ALL platforms, not just the anchor App.

Further, when you are recording… the app automatically mutes (for the most part) background noise to give you a really nice quality sound, no matter where you record.

So… Listen to my new microcast, Snack This! Bitesized Education Microcasts

If you’re up to co-host a show… send me your info and let’s set something up!

greyscale photography of condenser microphone

Photo by Tommy Lopez on Pexels.com

About Thrasymachus

2013 Northwest ISD teacher of the year, Humanities Texas 2012 Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award, and 2011 Outstanding Educator of North Texas Award (North Central Texas College). I'm currently a Regional Digital Learning Consultant with the Education Service Center Region 11 in Ft. Worth, Texas and a college government educator who incorporates philosophy, technology & humor. A student through and through, I walk with my students in their learning. Most importantly, I'm blessed with the 3 most perfect kids eva! I love on them ery day!!!
This entry was posted in In The Classroom, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment