My Move To “The Reeg”


After a wonderful 10 year relationship with the Northwest Independent School District, I have decided to move on and enter into a new and excited role with ESC Region 11 (now known in my head, at least, as “The Reeg”).

In many ways, this new role will be a reinvention or revamping of Instructional Technology (Digital Leadership) at the region level.  It’s a huge task, but with our devil-may-care team and fearless leader showing the way, I think it’ll be a challenging, yet fun adventure that will positively affect many thousands of students.  This new incarnation of the Digital Learning Team is just off-center enough to think we can complete the task and enjoy ourselves as we do it (see video above).

It’s been 16 years since I’ve entered into this most important and urgent of industries and I can honestly say I’ve seen the good, the bad and the ugly.

SisyphusThe past decade with Northwest ISD has been an education in itself.  NISD is, by far, the best district I’ve worked for because it has the best people I’ve work with and under.  Certainly, we all have our warts and we all have our Sisyphean challenges.  Few things in this world are perfect.  But the people I’ve worked closely with at Northwest were always concerned with what is best for students.  They were passionate about that charge and took action to deliver a kind of education that remained true to that goal.

I’ve grown as an educator and person under the tutelage (whether they knew it or not) of so many great people at NISD.  Credit should be given where it is due and I would not be who I am as an educational leader with the patience and help of so many other educational leaders.

My non-exhaustive & semi-cryptic list of NISD rockstars that I am indebted to:

Mr. H – as complete an educator as one can hope for.  He walks the walk.

Mrs. Cr – an expert in her field and always asking “How does this help my class?”

Mr. G – always asking “How can we do it better?”

Mrs. V – always asking “What do your students need and I’ll get it for you?”

Mr. Palermo – always suggesting “Do what is right by your students, not what’s in the textbooks or rulebooks.”

Mrs. C – willing to serve her campuses in any capacity that is true the 21st century learner model and not giving herself enough credit as a tremendous leader

Mrs. C – a dedicated educator who will take on Herculean tasks for her campuses without complaint and without seeking recognition.  A powerhouse of intelligence and dedication.

Mr. P – never underestimate this guy-a versatile and passionate leader that gets in the trenches with you and loves every second of it

Mrs. H – stable presence no matter the situation and quick study of everything

The entire English department at BNHS – genius teaching to create other geniuses

Mr. M – a great leader who makes every attempt to trust his people and let them do what they do best

Mrs. B – teaching to her student’s souls, not just their minds.

Mrs. H – pushing her students to be outstanding in every way

Mr. R – pouring his soul into his work and then playing it for everyone to see

Thanks to you all.

I’m really pumped about the transition into this new role that will allow me to serve even more students in the creative and slightly off center way that I do.  I’m pumped to be part of a dedicated and talented team that has been nothing but welcoming.  Finally, I’m pumped about serving visionary school districts that are ready to lead their students into a future that students already own (we’re just taking care of it for them till they get there).  I can’t wait to see the culture of exceptionalism that we all create together.

About Thrasymachus

2013 Northwest ISD teacher of the year, Humanities Texas 2012 Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award, and 2011 Outstanding Educator of North Texas Award (North Central Texas College). I'm currently a Regional Digital Learning Consultant with the Education Service Center Region 11 in Ft. Worth, Texas and a college government educator who incorporates philosophy, technology & humor. A student through and through, I walk with my students in their learning. Most importantly, I'm blessed with the 3 most perfect kids eva! I love on them ery day!!!
Gallery | This entry was posted in In The Classroom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

