Celly: A Twitter Alternative


I feel like I’m talking bad behind a good friend’s back as I write this.

Twitter is the world to me.  If Twitter were a friend, I’d leave it all of my worldy possessions when I passed on to that great hashtag (#heaven) in the sky.  I would then do
a final apology blog to my family explaining why Twitter beat them out (sorry, baby Paige).

However, I know there are a few of you who get nervous allowing students to access the entirety of the social universe via Twitter.  True, there are risks and there are bad people and fakes floating around in that thrilling maelstrom of comments and RT’s.  There are short cuts to blocking out some of the static that Twitter can cause (ex. creating unique hash-tags), but that’s not fool proof.

celly

Enter Celly!

Celly allows you to open up protected “cells” for your students to have Twitter-like conversations within.

Celly has three types of “cells”: curated, open, and alert only.  Curated cells allow teachers to pick and choose which comments get posted within a discussion.  This may be good for small groups, but it can also turn into a lot of word for the Editor In Chief (you).  Open cells function just like Twitter.  Anyone you initially allowed into the cell can post anything.  This is advantageous over Twitter because you know who is posting and can talk to them if something fishy gets sent out.  You have access to their account.  Alert only would be a great way to alert parents and students to upcoming events, tests, due dates, etc.

Here’s a short tutorial on the rest.

About Thrasymachus

2013 Northwest ISD teacher of the year, Humanities Texas 2012 Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award, and 2011 Outstanding Educator of North Texas Award (North Central Texas College). I'm currently a Regional Digital Learning Consultant with the Education Service Center Region 11 in Ft. Worth, Texas and a college government educator who incorporates philosophy, technology & humor. A student through and through, I walk with my students in their learning. Most importantly, I'm blessed with the 3 most perfect kids eva! I love on them ery day!!!
Gallery | This entry was posted in In The Classroom, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

