Making it Legit.: One to One Communication in Moodle

You want this…

I use the “contact me” icon below to have students email me via Moodle during class or at home. If they need to update me on personal information, late work, planned absences, etc. all they have to do is click, write, and send. This is especially useful for make-up work.

“One to One” is a private communication tool (associated with “groups”in Moodle) that is also useful as a documentation tool to use as evidence of contact between teacher and student.

Specifically, “One-to-One” is an in-house email system. Done correctly, the messages between you and your students are absolutely private. You can use “one to one” to have students update you on missing work, late work, as an alternative “drop box”, or to communicate personal issues affecting student’s academics that they otherwise would not want to reveal to you face to face (as well as documentation of communication with students…messages are TIME STAMPED 🙂 ! ). To insure the privacy aspect of this useful tool, You will need to test it out once this is set up to make sure it was done correctly and, hence, the messages really are private. However, I’ve been using this form of communication between me and my students for three years now and I’ve only had one hiccup so far (due to the fact that I didn’t test it out back in the day) …

The icon is the easy part. Just find an interesting, colorful, icon that communicates what the button will do once pushed (ie. “contact me”) in Google. Download it into your moodle storage area, and paste wherever you want the icon to appear on your page. You will later link the “One to One” to this icon just as you would link any sentence or word.

Now the slightly more difficult part.

A prerequisite: please make sure your students (or at least most of them) are already loaded into your classes.

There are two steps.

  1. Under the administration block, click on “groups.”
  2. Click on the “groupings” tab (should be toward the top)
  3. Click “create groupings”
  4. Name it (ex. One to one communication)
  5. Go back to top and click on “groups” tab
  6. Auto create groups
  7. “select members”
  8. specify “members per groups”
  9. member count – 1
  10. naming scheme – @
  11. create in grouping – “one to one 2”
  12. Preview
  13. Save if all looks good

Part 2: On your homepage, choose the appropriate topic block where you are putting this.

  1. Click the “add an activity” drop down
  2. Click “forum”
  3. Name it
  4. Standard forum for general use
  5. Add your personal or class specific communication instructions
  6. Group mode should be set to “separate groups”
  7. Under the “grouping” tab click on “one to one communication”

Next, click edit and link your icon to the new “One to One” grouping!

That should be it!!

I share because people share with me. Please pass this along.

Also, if my instructions are confusing or inaccurate, please let me know so I can clean up the mess. According to my wife and kids, when I give instructions they are usually vague and inaccurate 🙂

Next post…How to embed html widgets into your moodle site…to Make It Legit!

About Thrasymachus

2013 Northwest ISD teacher of the year, Humanities Texas 2012 Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award, and 2011 Outstanding Educator of North Texas Award (North Central Texas College). I'm currently a Regional Digital Learning Consultant with the Education Service Center Region 11 in Ft. Worth, Texas and a college government educator who incorporates philosophy, technology & humor. A student through and through, I walk with my students in their learning. Most importantly, I'm blessed with the 3 most perfect kids eva! I love on them ery day!!!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

